With Debbie Lesko Sworn In, The House is Still Short Members

Chamber still has six vacancies, with some more on the way

Speaker Paul D. Ryan, R-Wis.,left, holds a ceremonial swearing-in ceremony for Debbie Lesko, R-Ariz., right, as her husband Joe holds the Bible on Monday, May 7, 2018. (Bill Clark/CQ Roll Call)

Even with Republican Debbie Lesko of Arizona being sworn in after her special election victory last month, the whole number of the House is 429, still short of capacity.

Lesko of took her oath of office as a member of the House at 6:59 p.m. on Monday, as well as the traditional ceremonial swearing in with Speaker Paul D. Ryan, R-Wis. 

Lesko succeeds Republican Trent Franks, who resigned on Dec. 8.

The House now has 236 Republicans and 193 Democrats. There are six vacancies: Pennsylvania 7th (Pat Meehan), Oklahoma 1st (Jim Bridenstine), Texas 27th (Blake Farenthold), New York 25th (Louise Slaughter), Ohio 12th (Pat Tiberi) and Michigan 13th (John Conyers Jr.).

That number will grow in the coming weeks, as Pennsylvania’s Charlie Dent has announced he will depart soon from his seat representing the commonwealth’s 15th district. 

Get breaking news alerts and more from Roll Call on your iPhone or your Android.