Shutdown ends as Trump signs short-term funding deal after House, Senate passage

Senior appropriators named to conference on Homeland Security spending bill

Senate Majority Leader Mitch McConnell, R-Ky., talks with reporters outside the Senate chamber about a continuing resolution to re-open the government on Friday, January 25, 2019. (Tom Williams/CQ Roll Call)

Updated 9:27 p.m. | The longest partial government shutdown in history is over.

The White House announced Friday evening that President Donald Trump had signed a short-term spending measure that will re-open the government for three weeks.

The announcement from the White House came hours after the House on Friday evening passed a continuing resolution to re-open the government for three weeks, following Senate passage earlier that afternoon.

The measure, which passed the Senate by voice vote and the House by unanimous consent.

Trump said during remarks in the Rose Garden Friday afternoon that he would sign the CR, which will reopen government through Feb. 15.

“I hope the experience of the last 35 days has taught us that we should never repeat this exercise of shutting down government again,” House Minority Leader Steny Hoyer said on the floor as the House voted. 

The House and Senate also agreed to motions to go to conference on a Homeland Security spending measure to debate border security in hopes of finding agreement in the next three weeks before the CR expires. 

Seven senators were named as conferees for the Homeland Security spending bill: Republicans Richard C. Shelby of Alabama, Shelley Moore Capito of West Virginia John Hoeven of North Dakota and Roy Blunt of Missouri and Democrats Patrick J. Leahy of Vermont, Richard J. Durbin of Illinois and and Jon Tester of Montana. 

Ten House members were named conferees: Democrats Nita M. Lowey of New York, Lucille Roybal-Allard, Barbara Lee and Pete Aguilar of California, David E. Price of North Carolina and Henry Cuellar of Texas, as well as Republicans Kay Granger, of Texas, Chuck Fleischmann of Tennessee, Tom Graves of Georgia and Steven M. Palazzo of Mississippi. 

Shelby and Lowey chair the Senate and House Appropriations Committees, respectively, and Leahy and Granger serve as ranking members, respectively. The others are all appropriators too. 

What’s a Continuing Resolution?

Lindsey McPherson, Niels Lesniewski and Jennifer Shutt contributed to this report. 

Get breaking news alerts and more from Roll Call on your iPhone or your Android.