April 24, 2015 SIGN IN | REGISTER
Register Today for a Free Panel Discussion on April 30: Addressing the Cost of Obesity in America's Aging Population

North Dakota Senate Race

Incumbent -- Byron L. Dorgan (D) ; Will retire at end of current term (announced Jan. 5, 2010)

Safe Republican
Race Ratings Key

Updated Oct. 14, 2010

Gov. John Hoeven (R), who was first elected in 2000 and has been re-elected with more than 70 percent of the vote twice since, is the prohibitive favorite to replace Dorgan. It's the first time a Senate seat has been open in North Dakota since Sen. Quentin Burdick (R) died in office in 1992.

State Sen. Tracy Potter, who has represented an area in and around Bismarck since 2007, is the Democrat in the race.


State Information

U.S. Senate Delegation: 2 Democrats, 1 Republican
U.S. House Delegation:

North Dakota's Other Senator

Sen. Kent Conrad-D
First Elected: 1986 (4th full term)
Last Elected: 2006 (68.83%)

State Offices

Governor: Jack Dalrymple, R
First Elected: (1st term)
State House Control: Republican
State Senate Control: Republican

State Election History
Year Election Candidate Votes Percent
2010 general John Hoeven (R) 181,689 76.1%
Tracy Potter (D) 52,955 22.2%
Keith Hanson (LIBERT) 3,890 1.6%
2004 general Byron Dorgan (D) 211,843 68.2%
Mike Liffrig (R) 98,553 31.8%
1998 general Byron L. Dorgan (D) 134,747 63.2%
Donna Nalewaja (R) 75,013 35.2%
Harley McClain (REF) 3,598 1.7%
1992 general Byron L. Dorgan (D) 179,347 59%
Steve Sydness (R) 118,162 38.9%
Tom Asbridge (I) 6,448 2.1%
Vote For President
Year Democrat Republican Independent
2012 + : :
2008 Barack Obama: 44.62% John McCain: 53.25%
2004 John Kerry: 35% George W. Bush: 63%
2000 Al Gore: 33% George W. Bush: 61%
+ Nearly complete, unofficial returns




Want Roll Call on your doorstep?