Feb. 9, 2016 SIGN IN | REGISTER

Senate Rejects Two Keystone Pipeline Proposals

Tom Williams/CQ Roll Call File Photo
An amendment to the surface transportation bill offered by Sen. Ron Wyden (left) regarding the Keystone XL oil pipeline failed on the Senate floor this afternoon.

Updated: 5:21 p.m.

The Senate rejected competing partisan proposals to expedite approval of the controversial Keystone XL oil pipeline from Canada to Texas.

The GOP proposal, offered by Sen. John Hoeven (N.D.), would have granted approval of the pipeline and would not require any further environmental reviews by the State Department. The amendment, offered to the Senate surface transportation bill, needed 60 votes to pass but failed 56-42. Eleven Democrats joined the Republicans voting for the amendment.

A Democratic alternative from Sen. Ron Wyden (Ore.) failed 34-64, with 13 Democrats voting with Republicans against the amendment.

Wyden’s amendment would have required the pipeline permit application to be approved or denied within 90 days of the completion of all analyses required by current law and executive orders. The Wyden proposal would also have mandated that all project construction materials be made in the U.S., and it would have banned companies from exporting oil from the pipeline. One of the key purposes of the pipeline is to allow TransCanada to export the oil extracted from Canadian tar sands to other countries.

Last year’s short-term deal to extend the payroll tax cut required the White House to make a decision on approval of the pipeline by the end of February. President Barack Obama rejected the project because he said the deadline to did not provide enough time to adequately review it. The White House recently announced that TransCanada would start building part of the pipeline from Oklahoma to Texas, and said it welcomed the company’s intention to reapply for the Canada-U.S. border permit.

The pipeline would transport an additional 830,000 barrels of oil per day to U.S. refineries on the Gulf Coast, including 100,000 barrels a day from the Bakken region of North Dakota and Montana, supporters argue.

In his quest to overturn the president’s February decision, Hoeven secured an opinion from the non-partisan Congressional Research Service confirming Congress’s constitutional authority to approve the project.

Democrats who joined Hoeven in supporting the amendment primarily hailed from states with robust energy industries. They were Sens. Max Baucus (Mont.), Mark Begich (Alaska), Bob Casey (Pa.), Kent Conrad (N.D.), Kay Hagan (N.C.), Mary Landrieu (La.), Joe Manchin (W.Va.), Claire McCaskill (Mo.), Mark Pryor (Ark.), Jon Tester (Mont.) and Jim Webb (Va.).

Obama made calls to several lawmakers in order to ensure the Hoeven amendment would be defeated, White House Press Secretary Jay Carney confirmed today.

comments powered by Disqus




Want Roll Call on your doorstep?