Pelosi Nominates Members for Leadership Positions

Four of seven would be new to leadership

House Minority Leader Nancy Pelosi has nominated Rep. John Yarmuth, D-Ky., to serve as ranking member of the Budget Committee. (Bill Clark/CQ Roll Call file photo)

House Minority Leader Nancy Pelosi on Friday nominated seven members for positions in Democratic leadership that will not be finalized until ratified by the Democratic Caucus. 

Pelosi announced the nominations — four of which would be new members of leadership if confirmed by the caucus — in a dear colleague letter. 

As part of a previously announced plan to expand the Democratic Policy and Communications Committee to three co-chairs, Pelosi nominated three members to head the caucus messaging panel: Reps. Cheri Bustos of Illinois, Hakeem Jeffries of New York and Matt Cartwright of Pennsylvania. 

Pelosi described Bustos as “a steadfast champion for the needs of working families, Jeffries as “a fighter for economic justice for all Americans,” and Cartwright as “a fighter for working families and inclusion in our economy.”

The other nominations were all for positions that will not change in structure. 

Pelosi is suggesting Rep. John Yarmuth of Kentucky replace Senator-elect Chris Van Hollen of Maryland as ranking member on the Budget Committee. 

“John will represent our values in the budget debate, is a master at communicating to the public and has been a leader in advocating the use of social media,” she said. 

To move ahead with the selection of other ranking members and committee assignments, the caucus needs to confirm membership of its Democratic Steering and Policy Committee, Pelosi said. 

She re-nominated Reps. Rosa DeLauro of Connecticut to chair the Steering panel and suggested current vice chair Eric Swalwell of California serve as her co-chair. Swalwell will replace Marlyland Rep. Donna Edwards, who ran for Senate but lost to Van Hollen in the primary. 

Pelosi also renominated Ben Ray Luján as chairman of the Democratic Congressional Campaign Committee. 

“Ben Ray has always known how, and more importantly, why we fight for a Democratic Majority,” she said.

House Democrats will hold their leadership elections Nov. 30. Presumably these nominations will be voted on by the caucus at that time. 

Get breaking news alerts and more from Roll Call on your iPhone or your Android.