Where the Health Care Whip Count Stands

Count still in flux, but odds look good for Republicans

House Majority Whip Steve Scalise, left, said he felt good about where the votes were for the GOP leadership’s health care plan. (Bill Clark/CQ Roll Call)


The odds continued to tip in Republicans’ favor on Thursday as they headed toward an afternoon vote to overhaul the health care system.

Party leaders were already celebrating hours before the vote was expected to take place, declaring they had the votes to pass the bill, even though enough members were still on the fence to keep that prediction in question.

[Republicans Optimistic Heading Into Health Care Vote]

“It’s going to be a good day,” said Majority Whip Steve Scalise when he was asked Thursday morning if Republicans had the votes.

GOP leaders can lose just 22 votes on the package and still pass the measure if there is full attendance.

With Florida Reps. Brian Mast and Daniel Webster and Virginia’s Rob Wittman confirming Thursday that they would vote “yes,” the scales continued to tip in Republicans’ favor.

The conference gave Speaker Paul D. Ryan a standing ovation after he spoke at a conference meeting Thursday morning, Rep. Chris Collins of New York said.

“There were a lot of smiles in the room today,” Collins said.  He also said he’s hoping to see 217 votes today, “because you always want to win by at least two.”

Here are members who are still voting no or are undecided. We’ll update the count until the real count starts.


Tuesday Group:

  1. Charlie Dent of Pennsylvania (confirmed 5/3)
  2. Leonard Lance of New Jersey (confirmed 5/3)
  3. Dan Donovan of New York (confirmed 5/3)
  4. Patrick Meehan of Pennsylvania (confirmed 5/3)
  5. Barbara Comstock of Virginia (confirmed 5/3)
  6. Jaime Herrera Beutler of Washington (confirmed 5/4)
  7. John Katko (confirmed 5/3)
  8. Ryan A. Costello of Pennsylvania (confirmed 5/3)
  9. Frank A. LoBiondo of New Jersey (confirmed 5/3)
  10. Christopher H. Smith of New Jersey (confirmed 5/3)
  11. Ileana Ros-Lehtinen of Florida (confirmed 5/3)
  12. Brian Fitzpatrick of Pennsylvania
  13. Mike Coffman of Colorado (confirmed 5/4)
  14. Dave Reichert of Washington

Freedom Caucus:

  1. Andy Biggs of Arizona (confirmed 5/3)

Liberty Caucus:

  1. Walter B. Jones of North Carolina (confirmed 5/3)
  2. Thomas Massie of Kentucky (confirmed 5/3) 

— Lindsey McPherson and Erin Mershon contributed to this report


Get breaking news alerts and more from Roll Call on your iPhone or your Android.