Several Ex-House Members Coming Back

Ex-Rep. Alan Grayson is headed back to Congress in January. (Douglas Graham/CQ Roll Call File Photo)

UPDATED 4:00 a.m. | At least eight former House Members will return to Congress next year, and five of them are Democrats who were defeated in the GOP wave of 2010.

Two ex-lawmakers defeated the person who ousted them from office last cycle. In New Hampshire, former Rep. Carol Shea-Porter (D) defeated freshman Rep. Frank Guinta (R) and ex-Rep. Dan Maffei (D) defeated Rep. Ann Marie Buerkle (R) in New York. In Illinois, former Rep. Bill Foster (D) ousted one of his ex-colleagues, Rep. Judy Biggert (R), although it was not a rematch from 2010

Two other former Members won open seats that were drawn to elect Democrats. Former Rep. Alan Grayson (D), a lightning rod for the GOP, easily won in Florida and and Dina Titus (D) won in Nevada.

Three other former Congressmen are returning after an extended hiatus: former Reps. Steve Stockman (R-Texas), Matt Salmon (R-Ariz.) and Rick Nolan (D-Minn.). Nolan, especially, will have a learning curve when he returns to the House in January after a 32-year hiatus. He defeated freshman Rep. Chip Cravaack (R-Minn.).

Former Rep. Ann Kirkpatrick (D-Ariz.) is also running and could join her colleagues defeated in 2010 by winning a comeback, but the 1st district race is too close to call at this point.