100 Years of Past Chaplains and Their Denominations

Here’s which Christian sects have been in the Capitol chambers recently

House Chaplain Patrick J. Conroy, Sens. Ben Cardin, D-Md., center, and Roy Blunt, R-Mo., attend a swearing-in ceremony for the new Librarian of Congress Carla Hayden, in the Great Hall of the Library of Congress Thomas Jefferson Building. (Tom Williams/CQ Roll Call file photo)

Rev. Patrick Conroy submitted a letter of resignation April 15 at Speaker Paul D. Ryan’s request.

Rep. Marcy Kaptur, said she was surprised that Ryan, who is Catholic, would try to oust the Roman Catholic priest. 

Conroy didn’t say much when she spoke with him, Kaptur said, but noted, “I think he’s deeply hurt.”

The next Chaplain of the House might not be Catholic. So far, all Chaplains have belonged to various Christian sects, though there are no restrictions against filling the position with members of any religion.

Here’s which denominations have been represented on Capitol Hill in the past century:

Chaplains of the House

  • Rev. Patrick Conroy, Roman Catholic
  • Rev. Daniel Coughlin, Roman Catholic
  • Rev. James Ford, Lutheran
  • Rev. Edward Latch, Methodist
  • Rev. Bernard Braskamp, Presbyterian
  • Rev. James Shera Montgomery, Methodist
  • Rev. Henry Couden, Universalist

Chaplains of the Senate

  • Rev. Barry Black, Seventh-Day Adventist
  • Rev. Lloyd John Ogilvie, Presbyterian
  • Rev. Richard C. Halverson, Presbyterian
  • Rev. Edward L.R. Elson, Presbyterian
  • Rev. Frederick Brown Harris, Methodist
  • Rev. Peter Marshall, Presbyterian
  • Rev. ZeBarney Thorne Phillips, Episcopal
  • Rev. Joseph Johnston Muir, Baptist
  • Rev. Forrest Johnston Prettyman, Methodist
  • Rev. Ulysses Grant Baker Pierce, Unitarian
  • Rev. Edward Everett Hale, Unitarian
  • Rev. William Henry Milburn, Methodist

Watch: Booing, Interruptions On the House Floor After Chaplain Resignation

Lindsey McPherson contributed reporting.

Get breaking news alerts and more from Roll Call on your iPhone or your Android.