Feb. 12, 2016 SIGN IN | REGISTER

Freshman Class of 2010 Fights for Influence in New Congress

GOP Reps. Patrick Meehan of Pennsylvania and Todd Rokita of Indiana were the other two steering committee representatives from the class in the 112th Congress. They declined to comment.

Still, the class will have one additional member on the steering committee. Rep. James Lankford of Oklahoma was unanimously elected to chair the Republican Policy Committee on Wednesday, meaning he will be in leadership and on the steering committee.

Other freshmen, however, were rebuffed in their bids for leadership. Rep. Martha Roby of Alabama lost to sophomore Rep. Lynn Jenkins of Kansas for the conference vice chairmanship. Rep. Jeff Denham of California lost to Rep. Virginia Foxx of North Carolina in the race to become conference secretary. Both positions come with a steering committee seat.

Lankford said he has heard the call from some members of his class to retain two spots on the steering committee, but he will not push for the cause. He said, however, that as the only other member of his class on the committee, he does feel some responsibility toward his colleagues.

I will definitely know those members better than most people will on the steering committee and Ill have the opportunity to represent them, he said. Ill be glad to be able to voice that. I have a responsibility to the people I know.

comments powered by Disqus




Want Roll Call on your doorstep?