Feb. 7, 2016 SIGN IN | REGISTER

Time for Rothenberg Annual Year-End Awards

Tom Williams/CQ Roll Call File Photo
The demise of the Iowa straw poll won Stuart Rothenberg’s 2011 award for most noteworthy political development.

Most Amazing Comeback By Someone Disliked By His Colleagues
And the award goes to: Newt Gingrich. By acclamation.

Most Boring Election of 2011
The runners-up:
Mississippi governor (Republican Phil Bryant over Democrat Johnny DuPree)
Kentucky governor (Democratic incumbent Steve Beshear over Republican David Williams)
Nevada’s 2nd district special (Republican Mark Amodei over Democrat Kate Marshall)

And the award goes to:
(Sorry, we dozed off for a bit …)
Louisiana governor (Republican incumbent Bobby Jindal over “others”)

Worst Possible Presidential Debate Moderator
The runners-up:
Charlie Sheen
Lindsay Lohan
Ashton Kutcher

And the award goes to: Donald Trump. The only thing more embarrassing than a Trump debate would have been candidates who agreed to participate.

Stuart Rothenberg is editor of the Rothenberg Political Report.

comments powered by Disqus




Want Roll Call on your doorstep?