Feb. 11, 2016 SIGN IN | REGISTER

Djou’s Time on the Hill Proves to Be Short-Lived

Hawaii’s Sen. Daniel Inouye (D) won re-election, beating Cam Cavasso, a former state Representative. Inouye will serve his ninth term in the next session. Rep. Mazie Hirono (D-Hawaii) also won re-election, but Rep. Charles Djou (R) lost to Democrat Colleen Hanabusa. Hanabusa picks up a rare seat for her party in this election cycle, but it was not unexpected. Djou sneaked into the seat in a special election earlier this year when a crush of Democratic contenders split the vote in this traditionally Democratic district long held by Neil Abercrombie, who resigned to run for governor. Hanabusa won with 53 percent of the vote.

In one of the most closely watched races of the year, Senate Majority Leader Harry Reid triumphed over tea party favorite Sharron Angle (R) in Nevada. Reid won with 50 percent of the vote to Angle’s 45 percent. Reid will serve his fifth term in the Senate, but he will have a much smaller majority and a GOP-led House to deal with in the coming session.

Rep. Dina Titus (D) was enveloped in the GOP wave that spread across the country, losing to Joe Heck (R) in Nevada’s 3rd district. Titus lost by less than 2,000 votes.

In Oregon, Sen. Ron Wyden quietly won a third term in office, defeating law school professor Jim Huffman (R) in one of the few statewide races where Republicans never made a serious attempt to unseat the incumbent. Wyden won with 56 percent of the vote to Huffman’s 40 percent.

Each of Oregon’s incumbents in the House won re-election, keeping the count at four Democrats and one Republican from the Beaver State.

On the House side, Jaime Herrera became the first Republican to represent Washington’s 3rd district in more than a decade. Herrera will replace Rep. Brian Baird (D), who is retiring this year. Despite a close race that was hard to call early on, Rep. Adam Smith (D) will return to Congress to represent Washington’s 9th district.

The House race in the 2nd district has yet to be called. Rep. Rick Larsen (D) was trailing behind challenger John Koster. According to news reports, Koster was leading Larsen by more than 1,400 votes. It may be several days before a winner is declared.

comments powered by Disqus




Want Roll Call on your doorstep?